Skip to main content
. 2012 Dec 18;9:148. doi: 10.1186/1479-5868-9-148

Table 3.

Agreement between measures of physical activity with comparable units in free living conditions

 
 
 
 
 
 
Absolute Difference
 
 
Author (Year) & Sample Comparison Measure 1 Mean (SD) Measure 2 Mean (SD) 1. Difference between means on each measure 2. Mean of differences % Agreement Limits of Agreementa
Ayabe (2008) part 2b. All older adults
Direct vs. Direct
Pedometer (LC; waist); steps·day-1
8449 (3790)
Pedometer (YM; waist) steps·day-1
6798 (3569)
 
1652(862)
n/a
Not reported
Ayabe (2008) Part 2. Active older adults
Direct vs. Direct
Pedometer (LC; waist); steps·day-1
10736 (3465)
Pedometer (YM; waist) steps·day-1
9017 (3125)
 
1719(883)
n/a
−46 to 3484
Ayabe (2008) Inactive older adults
Direct vs. Direct
Pedometer (waist); steps·day-1
5402(1071)
Pedometer (waist) steps·day-1
3840 (1116)
 
1562(1719)
n/a
−164 to3289
Bergman (2009) part 2. Overall sample
Direct vs. Direct
Pedometer (SW3; waist) steps·day-1
1587 (1057)
Pedometer (DW; ankle) steps·day-1
6420(3180)
4833
 
n/a
 
Bergman (2009) part 2. Men
Direct vs. Direct
Pedometer (waist) steps·day-1
1180(420)
Pedometer (ankle)
6565(1634)
5385
 
 
 
Bergman (2009) part 2. Women
Direct vs. Direct
Pedometer (waist) steps·day-1
1767(1221)
Pedometer (ankle) steps·day-1 steps·day-1
6356 (3762)
4589
 
 
 
Bonnefoy (2001). Men
Indirect vs. Direct
7 Day Recall TEE kcal·day-1
2810.8 (618.4)
DLW TEE
2,535.1 (585.2)
276
 
+10.8*
−1075 to 1625 kcal·day-1
Bonnefoy (2001). Men
Indirect vs. Direct
QAPSE TEE kcal·day-1
2177.1 (153.2) kcal·day-1
DLW TEE
2,535.1 (585.2)
358
 
−14.1*
−1470 to 754 kcal·day-1
Bonnefoy (2001). Men
Indirect vs. Direct
MLTPAQ EEPA kcal·day-1
490.9 (204.3) kcal·day-1
DLW EEPA
803.6 (463) kcal·day-1
313
 
−38.9*
−1188 to 562 kcal·day-1
Bonnefoy (2001). Men
Indirect vs. Direct
YPAS EEPA kcal·day-1
893.8 (395.8) kcal·day-1
DLW EEPA
803.6 (463) kcal·day-1
90
 
+11.3
−464 to 645 kcal·day-1
Bonnefoy (2001). Men
Indirect vs. Direct
CAQ EEPA kcal·day-1
563.1(246.6) kcal·day-1
DLW EEPA
803.6 (463) kcal·day-1
240
 
−30.0*
−1076 to 596 kcal·day-1
Bonnefoy (2001). Men
Indirect vs. Indirect
7 Day Recall TEE b
2810.8 (618.4) kcal·day-1
QAPSE TEE
2177.1 (153.2) kcal·day-1
634
Not reported
Not applicable
Unable to calculate because mean (and) difference between measures not provided
Bonnefoy (2001). Men
Indirect vs. Indirect
YPAS EEPA
893.8 (395.8) kcal·day-1
MLTPAQ EEPA
490.9 (204.3) kcal·day-1
403
Not reported
Not applicable
Unable to calculate because mean (and) difference between measures not provided
Bonnefoy (2001). Men
Indirect vs. Indirect
YPAS EEPA
893.8 (395.8) kcal·day-
CAQ EEPA
563.1 (246.6) kcal·day-1
331
Not reported
Not applicable
Unable to calculate because mean (and) difference between measures not provided
Bonnefoy (2001). Men
Indirect vs. Indirect
MLTPAQ EEPA
490.9 (204.3) kcal·day-1
CAQ EEPA
563.1 (246.6) kcal·day-1
72
Not reported
Not applicable
Unable to calculate because mean (SD) difference between measures not provided
Conn (2000)
Indirect vs. Direct
Exercise EE (kcal/day)
388.85 (425.11)
Accelerometer (kcal/day)
275.77 (138.10)
112.73
Not reported
+40.1%
Unable to calculate because mean (SD) difference not provided
Harada (2001). Mixed sample. Retirement home sample
Indirect vs. Indirect
YPAS EE kcal·week-1
2313 (2277) kcal·week-1
CHAMPS EE kcal·week-1
1548 (1767) kcal·week-1
765
Not reported
Not applicable
Unable to calculate because mean (SD) difference between measures not provided
Harada (2001). Mixed sample. Community Centre Sample
Indirect vs. Indirect
YPAS EE kcal·week-1
8125 (4125) kcal·week-1
CHAMPS EE kcal·week-1
3848 (2402) kcal·week-1
4641
Not reported
 
Unable to calculate because mean (SD) difference between measures not provided
Harris (2009). Men (2009)
Direct vs. Direct
Pedometer (SW-200) steps·day-1)
6991(3919)
Accelerometer (Actigraph) steps·day-1
6931(3656)
60
 
 
 
Harris (2009)) – Total Sample
Direct vs. Direct
Pedometer (SW-200) steps·day-1
6712 (3526)
Accelerometer (Actigraph) steps·day-1
6668 (3404)
44
 
 
 
Harris (2009) –Women
Direct vs. Direct
Pedometer (SW-200) steps·day-1)
6428 (3088)
Accelerometer (Actigraph) steps·day-1
6401 (3136)
27
 
 
 
Morio (1997) Men
Direct vs. Indirect
Activity log DEE (MH.day)
12.7 (2.2)
Doubly labeled water (MJ/day)
12.8 (3.1)
 
 
−0.9 (11.8)%
−13.9 to 17.7%
Morio (1997)
Direct vs. Indirect
Activity log DEE (MH.day)
12.7 (2.2)
HR monitoring (MJ/day)
13.5 (2.7)
 
 
−5.9%
Unable to calculate because mean (SD) difference not provided
Morio (1997) Women
Direct vs. Indirect
Activity log DEE (MJ/day)
8.8 (1.2)
Doubly labeled water (MJ/day)
9.6(0.8)
 
 
−7.7 (12.7)%
−21.9 to 12.3%
Morio (1997) Women
Direct vs. Indirect
Activity log DEE (MJ/day)
8.8 (1.2)
HR monitoring (MJ/day)
10.2(1.5)
 
 
−13.7%
Unable to calculate because mean (SD) difference not provided
Morio (1997) Men
Direct vs. Direct
HR monitoring (MJ/day)
13.5 (2.7)
Doubly labeled water (MJ/day)
12.8 (3.1)
 
 
4.5 (14.4)%
−9.0 to 32.3%
Morio (1997) Women
Direct vs. Direct
HR monitoring (MJ/day)
10.2(1.5)
Doubly labeled water (MJ/day)
9.6(0.8)
 
 
5.9(8.8)
−4.5 to 16.2%
Resnick (2008) – Senior Study
Indirect vs. Indirect
6 month YPAS PA
26.4 (13.8) hrs·week-1
6 month CHAMPS PA
19.9(10.1) hrs·week-1
6.5
 
 
 
Resnick (2008) – Senior Study
Indirect vs. Indirect
6 month YPAS EEPA
5317.2 (2812) kcal·week-1
6 month CHAMPS EEPA
2979.0 (1719.9) kcal·week-1
2338.2
 
 
 
Resnick (2008) – Senior Study
Indirect vs. Indirect
6 month YPAS MPA
2.4(3.3) hrs·week-1
6 month CHAMPS MPA
5.7(5.5) hrs·week-1
3.3
 
 
 
Resnick (2008) – Senior Study
Indirect vs. Indirect
6 month YPAS EEMPA
742.7 (1090) kcal·week-1
6 month CHAMPS EEMPA
1030(1199.7) kcal·week-1
287.3
 
 
 
Resnick (2008) –HIP study
Indirect vs. Indirect
Baseline, 6 & 12 month YPAS PA
30.0(27.7) 22.4(25.6) 21.4(21.3)
Baseline, 6 & 12 month CHAMPS
8.3(7.7)l 8.9(8.2) 8.6(7.8) hrs·week-1
21.7; 13.5; 12.8
 
 
 
Resnick (2008) –HIP study
Indirect vs. Indirect
Baseline, 6 & 12 month YPAS EEPA
6002.6 (7357.2); 4715.3 (7177.8); 4306.7 (6337.2) kcal·week-1
Baseline, 6 & 12 month CHAMPS EEPA
1451.2 (1418.2) 1445.9 (1324.8) 1474.0 (1426.0) kcal·week-1
4551.4 3269.4 2832.7
 
 
 
Resnick (2008) –HIP study
Indirect vs. Indirect
Baseline, 6 & 12 month YPAS MPA
0.9(1.9); 2.3(3.6); 1.9(3.2) hrs·week-1
B Baseline, 6 & 12 month CHAMPS MPA
2.1(3.8); 1.9(3.0) 2.3(3.8) hrs·week-1
1.2; 0.4; 0.4
 
 
 
Resnick (2008) –HIP study
Indirect vs. Indirect
Baseline, 6 & 12 month YPAS EEMPA
287.0 (569.2); 529.1 (1001.8); 662.0 (1143.8) kcal·week-1
Baseline, 6 & 12 month CHAMPS EEMPA
486.7(862.8); 409.1 (608.1) 493.3 (777.7) kcal·week-1
199.7; 120; 168.7
 
 
 
Rutgers (1997)
Indirect vs. Direct
24 hour recall
8.6(0.9) MJ/day
TEE HRM (individual calibration curve)
8.8(3.5) MJ/day
 
0.2(3.0)
−2.27
−6.22 to 5.85
Rutgers (1997)
Indirect vs. Direct
24 hour recall
8.6(0.9) MJ/day
TEE HRM (group calibration curve)
8.1(5.2) MJ/day
 
0.5(4.9)
+6.2
−9.41 to 10.39
Rutgers (1997)
Direct vs. Direct
TEE HRM (group calibration curve)
8.1(5.2) MJ/day
TEE HRM (individual calibration curve)
8.8(3.5) MJ/day
 
0.6(5.1)
n/a
−9.35 to 10.7
Seale (2002) Men
Indirect vs. Direct
DLW TEE
12.43(1.63)
EE from PA (7 day recall) and weight
17.03(4.07)
 
4.60(3.64)
+37.4(30.2)
−2.68 to 11.88
Seale (2002) Men
Indirect vs. Direct
DLW TEE
12.43(1.63)
EE from PA (7 day recall) and BMR
13.69(2.99)
 
1.26(2.63)
+10.58(21.8)
−4 to 6.52
Seale (2002) Men
Indirect vs. Direct
DLW TEE
12.43 (1.63)
EE from PA (7 day recall) and RMR
13.69(3.23)
 
1.27(2.46)
+9.8(19.9)
−3.65 to 6.19
Seale (2002) Women
Indirect vs. Direct
DLW TEE
9.44(0.90)
EE from PA (7 day recall) and weight
12.86(3.41)
 
3.42(3.69)
+38.03(39.4)
−3.96 to 10.8
Seale (2002) Women
Indirect vs. Direct
DLW TEE
9.44(0.90)
EE from PA (7 day recall) and BMR
10.15(2.21)
 
0.71(2.59)
+9.01(27.4)
−4.47 to 5.89
Seale (2002) Women
Indirect vs. Direct
DLW TEE
9.44(0.90)
EE from PA (7 day recall) and RMR
9.51(2.4)
 
0.07(2.76)
+2.2(29.1)
−5.45 to 5.59
Stel (2004)
Indirect vs Indirect
LAPAQ total activity
93 (4,5) score
6 month CHAMPS PA
89 (3,6) score
4
 
 
 
Stel (2004)
Indirect vs Indirect
LAPAQ walking
14 (3,30)
6 month CHAMPS EEPA
28(18,38)
14
 
 
 
Stel (2004)
Indirect vs Indirect
LAPAQ bicycling
0(0,10)
6 month CHAMPS MPA
0(0,10)
0
 
 
 
Stel (2004)
Indirect vs Indirect
LAPAQ gardening
0(0,2)
6 month CHAMPS EEMPA
0(0,6)
0
 
 
 
Stel (2004)
Indirect vs Indirect
LAPAQ light household
42 (28,56)
7 day diary light household
35 (22,48)
7
 
 
 
Stel (2004)
Indirect vs Indirect
LAPAQ heavy household
4 (0,13)
7 day diary heavy household
6 (0,16)
2
 
 
 
Stel (2004)
Indirect vs Indirect
LAPAQ Sports
2(0,16)
7 day diary Sports
0(0,9)
2
 
 
 
Washburn (1990)
Indirect vs Indirect
BRFSS Standing light and moderate work
141.6 (153.9) min·day-1
Diary Standing light and moderate work
210.9 (107.3) min·day-1
8.085 hr/week
 
 
 
Washburn (1990)
Indirect vs Indirect
BRFSS Slow walking
50.2(80.4) min·day-1
Diary Slow walking
54.2(38.7) min·day-1
0.467 hours/wk
 
 
 
Washburn (1990)
Indirect vs Indirect
BRFSS Moderate walking
22.6(28.1) min·day-1
Diary Moderate walking
19.7(22.6) min·day-1
0.338 hours/wk
 
 
 
Washburn (1990)
Indirect vs Indirect
BRFSS Light sport and recreation
9.9(26.7) min·day-1
Diary Light sport and recreation
11.9(31.3) min·day-1
0.233 hours/week
 
 
 
Washburn (1990)
Indirect vs Indirect
BRFSS Moderate Sport and Recreation
3.9(7.2) min·day-1
Diary Moderate Sport and Recreation
4.1(11.1) min·day-1
0.023 hours/week
 
 
 
Washburn (1990) Indirect vs Indirect BRFSS Total 228.4 (199.2) min·day-1 Diary total 300.9 (109.2) min·day-1 8.45 hours/week      

a.Limits of agreement = mean different ± 2s, where s = standard deviation of the differences

b.Study also examined step counts in younger adults (N=17). Only results specific to the older adult sample (N=28) are presented.